Accepting Nominations: 2022 Harriet Tubman Prize

2022 Harriet Tubman Prize


The Lapidus Center for the Historical Analysis of Transatlantic Slavery is pleased to announce the opening of the competition for the 2022 Harriet Tubman Prize, which will be awarded to a distinguished nonfiction book published in the United States on the slave trade, slavery, and anti-slavery in the Atlantic World. The prize of $7,500 will be presented at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.


Among the factors that will be considered in determining the winner will be the significance of the subject, the quality of the research and writing along with the originality and appeal to an academic and a general audience. Books must have been published between January 1, 2021, and December 31, 2021. Anthologies, works of poetry, and fiction are not eligible.

Submission Process

In addition to the nomination form, please submit the following information and materials:

  • ten copies of the book or galley copies
  • biographical information about the author
  • reasons for submitting the work
  • available reviews

Nomination Deadline

The postmark deadline for nominating titles for the 2022 Harriet Tubman Prize is January 10, 2022. Books must be nominated by publishers and accompanied by the nomination form. Books submitted by their authors will not be accepted. 

Nomination Form: 2022 HTP_Nomination Form