[Closed]Accepting Nominations: 2020 Harriet Tubman Prize

2020 Harriet Tubman Prize

The Lapidus Center for the Historical Analysis of Transatlantic Slavery is pleased to announce the opening of the competition for the 2020 Harriet Tubman Prize, which will be awarded to a distinguished nonfiction book published in the United States on the slave trade, slavery, and anti-slavery in the Atlantic World. ​The prize of $7,500 will be presented at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.


Among the factors that will be considered in determining the winner will be the significance of the subject, the quality of the research and writing along with the originality and appeal to an academic and a general audience. Books must have been published between January 1, 2019, and December 31, 2019. Anthologies and works of fiction are not eligible.

Nomination Deadline

The deadline for nominating titles for the 2020 award is​ December 31, 2019​. Books must be nominated by publishers and accompanied by the nomination form. Books submitted by their authors will not be accepted.

Submission Process

In addition to the nomination form, please submit the following information and materials:

  • ten copies of the book or galley copies
  • biographical information about the author
  • reasons for submitting the work
  • available reviews

The nomination form is available here: Nomination Form_ 2020 Harriet Tubman Prize